Alex Blumberg’s New Podcast: StartUp

StartUp art work

The most recent episode of Planet Money introduced us to StartUp, a new podcast by Alex Blumberg. StartUp is Blumberg’s journey to start his own podcasting company. Private conversations with his wife, meetings with potential investors and sponsors, and discussions with his business partner Matt Lieber give listeners insight into the excitement, fear, frustration, and joy that Blumberg experiences as he tries to get his young venture off the ground.

I don’t remember the last time I was emotionally moved while listening to a podcast, but Blumberg, a former producer for This American Life and co-founder of Planet Money, brings to his new podcast a fantastic story-telling ability. Every step of the way I felt what Blumberg was going through, expressing his fears to his wife, feeling inadequate in negotiating equity with his partner, and generally feeling excited and anxious to do something on his own. I immediately subscribed and downloaded all three episodes produced so far. I haven’t had an opportunity to listen to them (as I just discovered it on my drive to work), but the comments on Facebook and Twitter tell me that my assumptions about the podcast are well founded.

You can read review more eloquent than mine by Paul Riismandel at Radio Survivor and by Michael Wolf at Forbes.

You can learn more about StartUp here:

Have a thought to share? Let me know in the comments.